UKC

Help with prescription mountaineering sunglasses.

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 AndrewB121 06 May 2024

I need some advice on prescription mountaineering sunglasses. I'm heading to the alps in June, and my old prescription sunglasses are broken (frame broke and lens coating coming off). Last year I just used my normal cat 2 sunglasses, but I went later in the summer so there wasn't much snow. Planning to do lots of climbing and mountaineering and expecting it to be bright and snowy, so looking for some quality cat 3 (or 4) polarised sunglasses. Problem is I'm a broke student and all the decent prescription ones I can find (Bolle, Julbo etc) are in the £200-300 range. I have contact lenses but they're just the single day disposable ones, so not really an option for multi-day trips, which I definitely plan on doing.  

I think the ideal might be normal mountaineering sunglasses with the little removable prescription inserts on the inside, that way the expensive cat 3/4 polarised bit is non-prescription. I found some on sunglassesforsport.com but they're not polarised. 

Has anyone been in this position and if so, what would you recommend? Does anyone know if/where I could get prescription inserts for normal mountaineering sunglasses, or good value prescription mountaineering sunglasses?

Post edited at 12:40
 Doug 06 May 2024
In reply to AndrewB121:

Can't help much as I no longer live in the UK but there have been several threads on this & related topics in the past which might help. For what its worth, the last pair of prescription Cat 4 sunglasses I bought in the UK were from my local optician (Inverness). Can't remember how much (not cheap) & long ago.

hokkyokusei 06 May 2024
In reply to AndrewB121: