UKC

Is there bouldering in Fontainbleu for beginners?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jduncs 04 Jul 2024

I am a keen beginner-intermediate (~V5-V6) boulderer and looking to go to Fontainbleu this summer for a week. My girlfriend (who climbs V2-V4 comfortably indoors) is less keen as she says the climbs are all really hard and she doesn't want to spend a week spotting and holding matts etc.

Are there beginner-friendly routes there to enjoy?

Apologies, don't know the other grades all that well as we are only just starting to venture to outdoor climbing! 

Jackspratt 04 Jul 2024
In reply to jduncs:

probably the biggest range and highest quality beginner problems i the world, to the extent that I'm still not sure if you are trolling us.

OP jduncs 04 Jul 2024
In reply to Jackspratt:

glad to hear that thanks. Any advice on whereabouts in particular or is it pretty much all over?

> to the extent that I'm still not sure if you are trolling us.

genuinely not, my gf asked me to investigate as a few people have told her that!

DamonRoberts 04 Jul 2024
In reply to jduncs:

You could spend a week climbing V0 and not run out of things to try. 

One of the best elements of climbing in Font is the easy circuits. They're marked by colour, yellow, orange, and blue. Many of these will be 30 or 40 problems long (occasionally over 100!), and you just go on adventure through the forest, occasionally ending up projecting a 'V0' but rarely feeling the need to go fetch your pads. Of these, some of them are 'floor is lava', so you follow a trail of arrows and dots around without touching the ground. These are a personal favourite. There will also be numerous variations, and non circuit problems everywhere.

Yellow - 1A – 3C/VB – V0 

Orange - 2A – 4B/VB – V0

Blue - 3C – 5C/V0 – V2

Red - 4C – 6C/V1 – V4