UKC

DIY Investing platforms

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 minimike 23 Jul 2024

I’ve never done this before but I now have some money I want to invest for my dotage/kids. I have a public sector pension so not looking for that. I want a stocks and shares ISA.  I want to invest in some ‘ethical’ funds and have spoken to an IFA who will sort it all, but the fees just keep stacking up (startup fee, ongoing management fee…) and look excessive for essentially buying some funds with my money.. (which then have their own fees anyway). Has anyone used any of the low fee diy platforms? Any recommendations/avoids/pitfalls? Other advice? 

thx, mm

compost 23 Jul 2024
In reply to minimike:

We have a couple of Vanguard funds which track global markets and do pretty well for us. They're easy to set up, need very little management and don't cost much. 

Davvers 23 Jul 2024
In reply to minimike:

Have a look at Peer to Peer platforms. Look at what useful information they provide and understand risk.

I would say understanding risk is one of the most important things to think about, also your capacity for loss.

some will allow ISA funds to be invested/lent.

I do run a crowdfund and peer to peer platform.

Alta Via 23 Jul 2024
In reply to compost:

> We have a couple of Vanguard funds which track global markets and do pretty well for us. They're easy to set up, need very little management and don't cost much. 

And their index ESG option allows you to opt out of companies you don't want to invest in.

DamonRoberts 23 Jul 2024
In reply to minimike:

I use Freetrade. It's not as fully featured as other platforms and they're working hard to monetize at the moment with premium features, but there are zero trade fees or platform fees, including for US stocks etc, so is a good option. They also have an ISA account built in. Main downside it is it currently app only, but they have a web interface in Beta.