UKC

Socially challenged

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JaiKane 27 Jun 2024

Hi all,

I'm after a bit of advice. I've been climbing for a couple of years now (largely indoors) and I absolutely love it. My challenge is I'm socially retarded (apologies if this is not PC), so to this day I have struggled to find a regular partner. I've managed to climb with several individuals over the time I've been climbing, but no-one seems to stick, which in turn limits my opportunity to climb various routes. I've tried getting onto course and putting myself out there to make friends, but nothing I do seems to work.

Is this normal? I'm 37 so I do wonder if its an age thing as my teenage daughter has no problem making friends and finding climbing partners. 

I'll continue to chat with people .etc but I really am beginning to question whether the social inept are doomed to fail with climbing? It is after all a social sport which requires good communication.

Any and all tips/tricks would be welcome.

~ J ~

Abr 27 Jun 2024
In reply to JaiKane:

Sorry for stating the obvious but have you thought about joining a club! I do get that clubs don’t suit everyone but for getting partners it’s a good option!

tew 27 Jun 2024
In reply to JaiKane:

Hope you find someone to climb with. Abr suggestion of a club is a brilliant start. I've met loads of climbing partners through bouldering and putting myself out there.

Here's a couple of things you can think about with your past climbing partners. Please don't take any of these as criticism

• Is it your belaying style that puts people off? There some people I don't want belaying me.
  • Could it be the days and hours you're able to climb? 
  • Miss match of climbing objects?
  • Have they stopped climbing and it's nothing to do with you? You're just being unlucky.

As I said at the start, I really hope you find someone to climb with. Maybe one of your daughters parents?

Luke90 27 Jun 2024
In reply to JaiKane: