UKC

Carpenter to build a home wall?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 KierenBannon 09 Jul 2024

Hi all,

I’m moving house in the next 3 month or so and I will have a garage which I want to put a training board in. Can anyone recommend a joiner, carpenter, handyman who would be able to help? 

I’m always happy to take on a project but I have a tendency to rush things and I really want to get this right. I know I can buy a home wall for 4/5k but I’m hoping this may be a cheaper option? 

Sheffield/Barnsley area

NomadET 10 Jul 2024
In reply to KierenBannon:

Depends on the size you are looking at and the shape? 
It will cost less than 4-5k for a carpenter to complete for sure if you’re thinking of a size that 2 sheets of 8x4 ply will cover.

I might be able to help.. I’m a carpenter and have built two free standing boards and a small bouldering gym 

Post edited at 08:26

So simple to build. Loads of information online.

I built a free standing campus board which was collapsible to put behind the sofa in our first rented flat.

I built my first board in a spare upstairs bedroom of a rented house. Free standing. Three sheets of ply with a slither taken off one and used as a kicker. Used 8x2s for the vertical leg supports. Went for 45° to maximize height / length of board.

Moved house, rebuilt the board in a garage. Again it was free standing with leg supports as it was a rented property. The garage was roomier so we could go higher and put it at 40°.

Bought a house, moved the board again, built it in the garage of the house we bought. This garage was lower so we went for 55°. Also as we owned the house I built it into the garage. Went off various plans I found online for this. Moon, metolus etc.